Community Support and Sponsorships

Dickinson API works hard each year hosting events that raise money and provide the opportunity to support local organizations and charities.  A few organizations and charities that we support over the years include:

  • Imagination Library
  • Born Learning Trail
  • Camp Re-Creation
  • After Prom Parties
  • Amen Food Pantry
  • Badlands Big Sticks

Dickinson API Memorial Scholarships

Current API members can sponsor up to two scholarships recipients, the member is required to be current on their membership dues. Applications are available at our monthly API meetings January- March. All entries must be returned to the Dickinson API scholarship committee by April 15th. Transcripts are required along with the application.

Once received, the API scholarship committee will hold an interview process to select the scholarship winners. Scholarships will be announced at the May API Meeting.
Note: The field of study is not required to be in the oil & gas industry. Geographical location does not play a role in the application.


In 2019, the Dickinson API chapter was able to award $25,000 in scholarships to local deserving students. The following is a list of the recipients, their sponsor, the school they are attending, degree pursuing, and the amount awarded to each.

Thank you to our API scholarship committee members for their time and dedication they put forth. Thank you; Lois Mueller, Lester Riddle, Scott Monroe, Kelly Buresh, Kent Mortenson, Tim Lantz, Mike Soehren, and Chad Stoltz.

Let’s continue to work hard to raise funds to give back to our community and youth! Good work team!

-Your Dickinson API Board

NameAmount AwardedSchoolDegreeAPI Sponsor
Jorda, Mariah$2,500UNDDoctorate of MedicineLester Riddle
Fridrich, Austin $2,000UNDMaster of Physician AssistantKent Mortenson
Lantz, Rachel $2,000Mitchell Hamline School of LawAttorney DoctorateTim Lantz
Jorda, Lauren $1,500UNDBiology - Pre-MedBradley Mayer
Kessel, Ashlyn $1,500University of MaryPhysical TherapyTroy Kessel
Andres, Alexis $1,000University of MaryOccupational TherapyRhonda Kieson
Brydl, Rebecca $1,000University of MaryElementary EducationJerry Brydl
Buresh, Carson $1,000MSU MoorheadBusiness AdministrationKelly Buresh
Fridrich, Isaac $1,000NDSUNatural Resource ManagementChad Stoltz
Gress, Macy $1,000NDSUDietitionDoug Kudrna
Haider, Austin $1,000SD School of MinesChemical EngineeringBruce Haider
Jorda, Cameron$1,000UNDBiology - Pre-MedLester Riddle
Kieson, Cole $1,000SD School of MinesElectrical EngineeringKris Keller
Kovash, Awna $1,000NDSUDoctorate of PharmacyKent Mortenson
Kudrna, Kenadee $1,000University of MaryNursingShawn Olson
Ness, Alexi $1,000NDSUArchitectureTiffany Steiner
Olson, Theresa $1,000OK Wesleyan UniversityYouth MinistryBrandon Halsey
Tibor, Anastasia $1,000University of MaryMusic EducationRhonda Kieson
Ewoniuk, Jayden $500Valley City State Wildlife BiologyEric Ewoniuk
Ghering, Tanner $500UNDBiologyCory Ghering
Karsky, Austin $500NDSUGeologyMarya Skaare
Riely, Katie $500DSUNursingBrad Riely
Stoltz, Shawn $500DSUExercise ScienceChad Stoltz